Templates by BIGtheme NET


2017 Daytona 500 qualifying: Time and TV schedule for Sunday’s event, Daytona 500 qualifying will be televised live on Fox at 3 p.m. ET on Sunday, with play-by-play man Mike Joy along with analysts Darrell Waltrip and Jeff Gordon on the call. The top two times in Sunday’s qualifying round will earn first-row positions at the Daytona 500, with the next 30 spots determined by the Can-Am Duel races on Thursday. The Daytona 500 race will be held next Sunday, Feb. 26, the championship event to officially kick off the 2017 NASCAR season.


 Watch Redskins vs Buccaneers Live

The Daytona 500 is an annual institution that marks the official beginning of the NASCAR Cup Series and the unofficial start of spring. In the eyes of many drivers, this is the biggest and most important race. For many fans, there is no greater.

This year’s edition of Daytona takes place on February 26, with front-row qualifying being held on Sunday. The second stage of qualifying, the Can-Am Duel races, will take place on Thursday.

Let’s examine both stages of qualifying for the Daytona 500, along with some new rules for this year’s big race and the hottest storylines heading into qualifiers.

The pole-sitter for the 59th annual Daytona 500 will be determined Feb. 19 at Daytona International Speedway (3 p.m. ET, Fox).

Nine drivers have won more than one pole at the Great American Race, including two-time Daytona 500 winner and seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, the only active driver to have have won at least two poles. Other multiple pole winners: Buddy Baker (4), Cale Yarborough (4) and Bill Elliott (4); Fireball Roberts (3), Ken Schrader (3) and Dale Jarrett (3); Donnie Allison (2) and Jeff Gordon (2).

Chase Elliott won the Daytona 500 pole last season, becoming the third rookie in the past four years to capture the starting spot. Danica Patrick won the pole in her first full-time Cup season in 2013, and Austin Dillon repeated the feat in 2014.